Wednesday, December 11, 2019

2019 Winners The African-American Film Critics Association Awards

The African-American Film Critics Association (AAFCA), the world's largest group of black film critics, announced their film award winners on Tuesday, December 10, 2019.

Jordan Peele's 'US' and the Eddie Murphy film 'Dolemite is My name' were honored with multiple awards while several other notable black actors and movies won awards.

The AAFCA Awards takes place on Wednesday, January 22, 2019, at the Taglyan Complex.

The AAFCA Awards celebrates achievements in film and television as selected by members of our organization. Going into its 8th year, the annual star-studded event attracts some of the biggest names in Hollywood as it recognizes the best performances of the year. In keeping with AAFCA's mission to support and promote the achievement of minorities in the arts and entertainment industry, several special achievement awards are given for extraordinary distinction in lifetime achievement, exceptional contributions to the film and television community.

Full list of winners of AAFCA 2019 awards

Best Film: Us (Universal)

Best Director: Jordan Peele (Us, Universal)

Best Actor: Eddie Murphy (Dolemite Is My Name, Netflix)

Best Actress: Lupita Nyong’o (Us, Universal)

Best Supporting Actor: Jamie Foxx (Just Mercy, Warner Bros.)

Best Supporting Actress: Da'Vine Joy Randolph (Dolemite Is My Name, Netflix)

Best Breakout Performance: Kelvin Harrison, Jr. (Waves, A24)

Best Animated Film: Abominable (Universal)

Best Documentary: The Black Godfather (Netflix)

Best Foreign Film: Parasite (Neon)

Best Independent Film: The Last Black Man in San Francisco (A24)

Best Screenplay Presented with The Black List: Bong Joon-ho, Parasite (Neon)

Impact Award: Queen & Slim (Universal)

We See You Award: Taylor Russell (Waves, A24)

No comments: