Thursday, February 11, 2021

Cory Booker and Tim Scott Introduce Resolution Celebrating Black History Month

U.S. Senators Cory Booker (D-NJ) and Tim Scott (R-SC) introduced a bipartisan resolution celebrating Black History Month and the important contributions made by Black Americans throughout United States history.

The resolution “acknowledges that all people of the U.S. are recipients of the wealth of history provided by Black culture” and “recognizes the importance of Black History Month as an opportunity to reflect on the complex history of the U.S., while remaining hopeful and confident about the path ahead.”

It also “acknowledges the significance of Black History Month as an important opportunity to commemorate the tremendous contributions of African Americans to the history of the U.S.” and “encourages the celebration of Black History Month to provide a continuing opportunity for all people in the U.S. to learn from the past and understand the experiences that have shaped the U.S.”

Full text of the resolution can be viewed here.

The resolution is cosponsored by: Dick Durbin (D-IL), Maggie Hassan (D-NH), Catherine Cortez-Masto (D-NV), Jeff Merkley (D-OR), Ron Wyden (D-OR), Tina Smith (D-MN), Ed Markey (D-MA), Mazie Hirono (D-HI), Sherrod Brown (D-OH), Chris Van Hollen (D-MD), Robert Menendez (D-NJ), Tammy Duckworth (D-IL), Richard Blumenthal (D- CT), Chris Coons (D-DE), Tammy Baldwin (D-WI), Patty Murray (D-WA), Mark Warner (D-VA), Tim Kaine (D-VA), Dianne Feinstein (D-CA), Jacky Rosen (D-NV), Chris Murphy (D-CT), Kyrsten Sinema (D-AZ), Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH), Sheldon Whitehouse (D-RI), Brian Schatz (D-HI), Kirsten Gillibrand (D-NY), Amy Klobuchar (D-AZ), Angus King (I-ME), Michael Bennet (D-CO), Elizabeth Warren (D-MA), John Ossoff (D-GA), Bernie Sanders (I-VT), Martin Heinrich (D-NM), Tom Carper (D-DE), Bob Casey (D-PA), Jack Reed (D-RI), Maria Cantwell (D-WA), Roy Blunt (R-MO), Thom Tillis (R-NC), Mike Crapo (R-ID), Lindsey Graham (R-SC), James Risch (R-ID), Kevin Cramer (R-ND), Roger Wicker (R-MS), Richard Shelby (R-AL), Dan Sullivan (R-AK), Rob Portman (R-OH), Marco Rubio (R-FL), Rick Scott (R-FL), and Bill Cassidy (R-LA), Bill Hagerty (R-TN), Mike Braun (R-IN), Todd Young(R-IN).

No comments: